40 Blues


This was written December 2018 but never published…

I have been silent lately because I am not accustomed to feeling the way I have felt over the last few years.  Ever since my motherhood journey began, I have become acquainted with exhaustion, being overwhelmed, and feeling like I can never really finish anything.  This journey has had its fair share of ups and downs, but I always seem to bounce back.  I’ve always jumped back on the bike of life and found spaces where joy, excitement, creativity, and passion exist…until I turned 40.

Right before my 40th birthday, I found out that I needed a tooth implant.  Before children, I had never even had one cavity.  Due to neglecting my own health during my pregnancies, I ended up having four cavities and needing one root canal.  Mommas…take care of yourself.  At 42, I found a lump in my breast.  Luckily, it was only a cyst.  However, the weeks it took to get the feedback from the doctor were emotionally straining.  At 43, a polyp was found in my uterus and a growth was located in my right ovary.  I go into the hospital this Friday for a surgery to remove the polyp and to definitively confirm that no malignant cells are present.  I am used to being so strong and in these last few years, I’ve had to face moments of being vulnerable in ways that are uncomfortable.

It also didn’t help that when I entered my 40s I was joined by my oldest son who was entering his pre-teen years, also known as the second toddler stage.  

I’m so used to having it all together and writing from that space.  I kept waiting to feel better before I started blogging again…

Leave a comment