The Search for Dayton’s Best Carrot Cake – Dorothy Lane Market


This week my Momories journal assignment was to write about my favorite things.  One thing that immediately popped into my mind was carrot cake.  Though I don’t treat myself often to that wonderful dessert, I LOVE carrot cake.  I actually can’t remember the last time I had some.  At first I thought that I’d just go buy one piece of cake somewhere and treat myself, but I wanted the very best piece if it was going to be a one time thing.  So I posted a request on Facebook for my friends to tell me where to find the best carrot cake in Dayton.  Needless to say, there were several suggestions.  That is how my simple desire to find a piece of carrot cake to treat myself has turned into a quest! 

My quest started yesterday at Dorothy Lane Market.  The kids and I traveled to DLM for the first time in search of Dayton’s best carrot cake.   In the car I informed the kids that I wouldn’t be sharing any of my cake with them.  My Oscar bound six year old immediately replied, “First you bought yourself yogurt last week.  Now carrot cake.  That’s selfish. What about us kids????”  I let him know I would buy whatever treat they wanted that was under $3.00, which seemed to satisfy him.

Now let’s just get straight to the carrot cake review.  I bought the baby cake for $3.99 and it was worth every penny!  It was incredibly delicious.  The best part was the frosting on the top.  It just melted in your mouth and was a wonderful compliment to the cake underneath.  The only thing I would have liked is if the cake was a little more moist.  I give Dorothy Lane Market’s cake a solid 8. (on a scale of 1 to 10).  I must say my favorite part of this trip was when the cashier Nancy told me it’s amazing that I look like I should be splashed on the cover of a magazine after giving birth to four children.  She get’s a 10!  You made my day Nancy! 

Next stop….The Cake Shop in Beavercreek.  Stay tuned….

By the way, you should consider journaling with me each week.  It’s really fun!  Join Me!

One response to “The Search for Dayton’s Best Carrot Cake – Dorothy Lane Market

Leave a Reply

