Christmas Shopping with Preschoolers Made Easy


Last Christmas we started a new shopping tradition for our children.  I wish I could say I was intentional about starting this tradition, but it was born out of me being too tired to take the children shopping for each other.  I was pregnant & my other tree children were ages 3, 2 & 1 at the time.  I just didn’t have the energy to walk those children around the mall, pick gifts, stand in line, & deal with whatever falling out situation usually accompanied mall trips.

Instead, this is what I did to minimize my stress level & still allow the children to “shop” for Christmas.

1st:  I went shopping alone & purchased several gifts that I knew each of them liked & needed.  I bought wrapping paper & gift bags as well. 

2nd:  When I got home, I set up a store in our bedroom.  I had Christmas music playing, a small Christmas tree with lights, and a “check out” area for them.  Each corner of the bedroom had gifts that they could choose from.  Since I was doing childcare at the time, I also bought enough gifts so they could “shop” for their friends as well. 

3rd: I called each child into the room one at a time so they could “shop.”  They were so excited to pick out a bag & fill it with goodies for their friends and family.  It was so much fun for them and for me to help them go through the “store” & make gift selections.

This year we did the same thing and the kids really enjoyed it!  I did as well.  No lines, no waiting, no falling out, no crying involved!

Alicia is a mother of 4, songwriter, vocalist and speaker.  She owns and operates the mothering website, www.seasonsofmotherhood.org.  She is also the facilitator for MOMORIES: 52 Weeks of Leaving the Legacy of Your Story starting in February 2010. 

2 responses to “Christmas Shopping with Preschoolers Made Easy

Leave a Reply

