SAHM – One of the Most Important Jobs in the World


stay-at-home-mom

Stay At Home Moms

I remember the first Stay at Home Mom I ever met.  At the time I was the youngest African-American officer in that area at Bank of America, in my early 20s with no husband and no children.  She was the wife of the head executive for the group I was responsible for staffing.  She didn’t talk much, but I recall the M&M chocolate chip cookies she brought to our mid-day holiday gathering. 

I introduced myself and gave her my title.  Then I asked, “what do you do?”  Her response was, “I’m a Stay at Home Mom.”  I really can’t remember if we had any conversation beyond that , but she often crosses my mind these days, more than 10 years later.  I am now a Stay at Home Mom.

I know at the time I was caught up in the corporate world where all I thought was valuable was moving up the ladder, and acquiring power, money and titles.  I am sure I didn’t make her feel welcome.  Now I realize, she was the person with the most important job in the room and I missed the opportunity to celebrate and recognize her.

Alicia is a mother of 4, songwriter, vocalist and speaker.  She owns and operates the mothering website, www.seasonsofmotherhood.org.  She is also the facilitator for MOMORIES: 52 Weeks of Leaving the Legacy of Your Story starting in January 2010.

Leave a Reply

