No You Don’t Look Like A Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader


Today is no deep, thought provoking post.  It’s just my thoughts about a comment my husband made two weeks ago.  I came down with the flu and was in bed for 48 hours trying to recover.  I was watching a video that came with my recent book purchase of Love & Respect by Dr. Emerson Eggerichs.  In the video as part of a joke he was telling, he made some comment about a wife not feeling like her husband wanted her if she didn’t look like a Dallas Cowboys cheerleader.  Shortly after that, my husband delivered dinner to me in bed.    I don’t know what possessed me to ask, “Honey, do you think I look like a Dallas Cowboy cheerleader?”  Obviously, my husband didn’t have his “my wife is pregnant, sick, and hormonal” filter on that evening.  His answer was somewhere in the neighborhood of, “No, but I love you anyway.”  I began to feel that burning in the middle of my chest that alerts me to “abort conversation immediately!”  Luckily, this time I listened.  While I know he didn’t mean to hurt my feelings, somehow weeks later, I was still bothered by that until I had a reality check.

Truly, I am thankful to God that I have beautiful, healthy children and another pregnancy that is going well.  However, there are times when I look in the mirror and don’t appreciate the reflection that reminds me that I have given birth multiple times.  Living in a society that is saturated with images of beauty that celebrate the youth of a woman, not one that carries the scars of motherhood, does present its challenges some days.

So today my goal is to celebrate that woman in the mirror instead of frowning when I see her.  Today I applaud & honor her maturity and  physical scars that represent the favor God has shown her by giving her the esteemed priviledge of bringing life into the world.  Today I will tell her what a great job she has done & that her value is not determined by her physical beauty or whether the house is spotless.  Yet, her value is in walking out the purpose God has for her and raising her children to honor God with their lives.  I will speak life into her and not negativity.  I will remind her that her sacrifice is not in vain and that God sees her and loves her.  I will remind her that she is beautiful.  And for all the areas that she feels insecure, there’s always MAC, Spanx, & Victoria Secret!

One response to “No You Don’t Look Like A Dallas Cowboys Cheerleader

  1. These scars are beauty marks. The most precious gifts given to human beings are our children, and when we take the time to breast-feed, to give to them all that is required of us emotionally, physically and spiritually, we sometimes acquire beauty marks that reminds us that we have done God’s work. There are no other symbols more beautiful than these. Choosing to experience this life giving journey has taught me that this is the only road I could possibly have taken, and it is the true definition of my success.

Leave a Reply

